About

IMG_2246

Sitting with my grandma who is holding my baby brother

Sitting with my grandma and my baby brother

  1. I moved around a lot as a kid. I have lived in 7 states.
  2. I am a military brat and after my parents divorced, I lived with my mom and little brother.
  3. I lived in the Rio Grande Valley, Texas for 13 years.
  4. I hate being asked the question, “Where did you grow up” because it never.ever.ever has an easy answer. EVER.
  5. I was homeschooled from the 8th grade until I graduated high school. Homeschooling is NOT for everyone.
  6. I’ve worked ever since I was 15. My first job was at the Catfish Palace in Mission, Texas. I was 13.
  7. I played volleyball all throughout high school and was quite good…I wanted to play in college, but was injured during a game and was almost paralyzed. I don’t remember the 2 months after my injury.
  8. I went on several mission trips through my church including teaching ESL in South Korea and Kazakhstan while I was in high school.
  9. I earned a full academic scholarship to the University of Texas Pan American and graduated in 3 years with a degree in English and another in Anthropology. I spent a summer studying culture in India and every day I dream about going back.
  10.  I became friends with my husband, at first, because I was worried that he didn’t have any friends. He was an international student from Paraguay.
  11. When my husband and I first married, we were so poor. Looking back, I can’t believe how little we had. People used to tease us that we lived on love, but that was pretty much the truth. We were poor college students who were crazy in love, but we did it.
  12. In 2010, we had our miracle baby, Sofie, and we left Texas when she was 5 months old, and moved to Colorado, where I taught 7th grade Composition for 2 years.
  13. In 2014, I had our second daughter, Lore. She is tiny. She’s now 15 months old and is still wearing 6-9 months clothing!
  14. In 2013, I helped pilot a technology program at my school in order to close the technology gap amongst low-income students and now I love teaching technology. The program is going strong, and several of our students have already developed prototypes and have won money from investors to take their products to market.
  15. As of the end of the ’14-’15 school year, I finished 6 years of teaching. I’ve taught high school ELA, Speech, and Anthropology and Middle School Composition and Computer Science.
  16. At the end of June 2015, we are moving to Paraguay, where my husband grew up.
  17. I love running, hiking, and photography. I am a budding tech geek, I love coding and creating infographics.
  18. I love horses and I still dream of owning one.
  19. I struggle with staying fit and healthy and tend to obsess over it way too much.
  20. I did gymnastics when I was in elementary school and I can still show off some of my skills.
  21. I used to play competitive tug-of- war in high school. Yea…it exists.
  22. I am going deaf in my right ear because of a disease that is eating my inner ear.
  23. This same disease makes me have vertigo, so I’m always walking into things.
  24. A police officer told me that I was a “danger to public safety” when I accidentally ran a flashing red light in the middle of nowhere at 10:30pm.
  25. I love sewing. I used to make most of my clothes and I taught sewing lessons in college to help pay the bills.
  26. I’ve been to the following countries: USA, Mexico, Canada, Paraguay, Argentina, Brazil, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Germany, England, United Arab Emirates, Ivory Coast, and kinda Ghana.
  27. I love snakes.
  28. I’m really good at starting things, but really bad at finishing them.
  29. When people speak to me in Spanish, all I can think of is how to answer them in German and vice versa
  30. I’ve never just barely watched the video of our wedding (after 6 1/2 years of marriage).
  31. We moved to Paraguay in June 2015. We’ll be here for a few years and then go on to Germany.

 

 

With my ESL class in Kazakhstan

With my ESL class in Kazakhsta

My dad and step-dad walking me down the aisle

My dad and step-dad walking me down the aisle

263144_10152761556030467_1346380142_n

Advertisements

2 responses to “About

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s